We fight to protect our clients in many areas of employment law.
Discrimination and Harassment Law
Workplace discrimination is illegal and is often experienced through subtle misconduct by an employee’s supervisor. This can include discrimination due to race, pregnancy, disabilities, and more. Certain groups of people are legally protected against these actions, classified by race, religion, disability, age, sex, sexual orientation, military service, and family status.
Harassment in the workplace can come in two forms: quid pro quo sexual harassment or a hostile work environment. If you experience these situations, the incidents must immediately be reported to your supervisor. Should you need further help, our experienced team has the tools to defend you.
Discrimination and Harassment Cases We’ve Won
- Race Discrimination – $1,025,000 million
- Race Discrimination – $1,200,000
- Sexual Harassment – $400,000
- Age Discrimination – $475,000
- Disability Discrimination – $466,000
*Results may vary depending on your particular facts and legal circumstances.
New Jersey is an at-will employment state, meaning your employer can fire you for any reason—except on the basis of race, sex, age, religion, and other protected categories—unless you have a contract stating otherwise. However, if you feel that you have been wrongfully terminated from your position, you may be entitled to compensation.
Whistleblower & Conscientious Employee Protection Act (CEPA)
Being a whistleblower takes courage; reporting illegal conduct in the workplace is not easy and could put you at risk of termination. However, if you are fired for reporting illegal or fraudulent activity or refusing to participate in such activity, you may be legally protected by CEPA. The New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (NJLAD) also protects employees against retaliation at the hands of employers.
Prevailing Wage Laws
If you are employed on a public works projects, you are entitled to receive a prevailing wage outlined in a contract. If you are paid less than the prevailing wage, you and other employees may be entitled to sue your employer for unpaid wages, costs, and attorney fees as a result of this contract breach.
Wage and Hour Rules, Laws and Code
New Jersey has strict laws on wages.
On January 1, 2022, many New Jersey employees saw their paychecks get a little bigger as increases to the state’s minimum wage took effect. Most affected workers saw a $1/hour increase:
- For non-tipped workers in most industries, hourly minimum pay increased from $12 to $13 per hour.
- The minimum hourly wage for tipped employees rose from $4.13/hour to $5.13/hour.
- The minimum wage for seasonal workers and employees of businesses with fewer than six employees rose from $11.10/hour to $11.90 per hour.
- Staff at long-term care facilities are now being paid at least $16/hour (up from $15/hour).
- Agricultural employees must be paid at least $10.90/hour (up from $10.44/hour).
For tipped employees, such as restaurant staff, a worker’s total earnings of hourly wage plus tips must equal at least the minimum wage per hour, averaged over the pay period.
The minimum wage increases are part of multi-year legislation signed in 2019. This law gradually increases the state’s minimum wage to $15 an hour by 2024 for most non-tipped workers and by 2027 for all other non-exempt, non-tipped employees.
If you have experienced retaliation for reporting a lack of payment, contact an employment lawyer at the Mark Law Firm for help recovering damages.
Work contracts are very complicated and should be negotiated, drafted, and interpreted by a skilled employment lawyer. In some cases, this is required. The Mark Law Firm represents both employees and companies in contract disputes, whether they are based on the drafting of a letter of understanding, terms of an employee manual, employment contracts, non-compete or solicitation agreements, separation or severance agreements, or termination letters.